About the Emeriti House

Emeriti House was inaugurated in January 2004 at the initiative of Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculties Moya Andrews and Associate Dean of the Faculties Susan Eklund. It occupies a stately structure built in 1925 on the south edge of campus (next to the Atwater Garage) that was dedicated for the use of IU emeriti faculty and librarians.

Our mission statement

To provide an environment to support continuation of the intellectual and creative activities of retired faculty, to help maintain their connections with the university, and to encourage the use of their talents as a continuing resource for the university.

Man speaking at an event
Woman in an audience at an event
Street view of Emeriti House

An inclusive community

Emeriti House is inclusive of Bloomington’s retired academic community.

  • We welcome all emeriti faculty and librarians of Indiana University, including their spouses and partners, widows and widowers, and their guests.
  • We welcome emeriti faculty and librarians from other universities.
  • We maintain a close working relationship with members of the IU Retirees Association (IURA) and the IU University Club (UClub), and members of IURA and the UClub are welcome to participate in our activities.
  • We are not a membership organization. There is no application process, nor do we charge dues.

Purpose and governance


Emeriti House operates under the auspices of the Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs and is governed by an Advisory Board whose membership includes Vice Provost, Carrie Docherty. The Director of Emeriti House is Timothy Londergan. Day-to-day operations are overseen by Emeriti House Manager Cyndi Eskine.

Our key function is to organize programs and events that provide opportunities for lifelong learning and to facilitate social interactions among Emeriti House “friends” — those who choose to participate in house activities and events.  We are always receptive to ideas for new and expanded activities.

Advisory Board
  • Bob Arnove, School of Education
  • Bonnie Brownlee, The Media School (Journalism)
  • Laurel L. Cornell, Sociology
  • Allan L. Edmonds, Mathematics
  • Bruce Jaffee, Kelley School of Business
  • Tim Londergan, Physics
  • Cyndi Eskine, Emeriti House Manager
  • Bill McGregor, O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs
  • Joe Miller, Kelley School of Business
  • Carrie Docherty, Vice Provost, Faculty and Academic Affairs (VPFAA)
  • Anya Peterson Royce, Anthropology
  • Beau Vallance, School of Education